
DID YOU KNOW... 

...North Carolina State Law requires a 

building permit to be issued before any 
structural work begins? 

 
DID YOU KNOW... 

...you must have a building permit for any 

non-structural work that costs $40,000 or 

more? 

 
DID YOU KNOW... 

 
...a building permit is required by the State of 

North Carolina to be issued for any structure 

that is 12 feet by 12 feet or larger, even pre- 

built storage buildings? 

 
Did you know… 

 
...any new structures that are located in 

Floodplain must have a Flood Development 

Permit, even if it doesn’t require a building 

permit? 

 
DID YOU KNOW... 

Bertie County is considered a coastal county 

which means that any development within 

75 feet of a navigable waterway must have a 

special permit, called a “CAMA Permit”? 

CAMA Permits are issued by the Division of 

Coastal Management office in Elizabeth City. 

Reach them by calling 252-264-3901. 
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FIRST THINGS 
FIRST! 

Sewage Disposal—We all 

have it and it’s got to go 

somewhere! But where? 

Approval must be granted for onsite sewage disposal 
(septic system) by Albemarle Regional Health Services, 
Environmental Health Division before a building permit or 
manufactured/mobile home permit may be issued. ARHS 
may be reached at 252-794-5322. If the site is located 
within a town that provides sewer service, a written 
confirmation from that town must be submitted. 

 
MANUFACTURED/MOBILE HOMES 

 

 

⇒   A permit is required before a manufactured home 
may be set up. This type of building permit is referred 
to as a set-up permit. 

⇒ A previously owned manufactured/mobile home must 
have a moving permit from the Tax Office of the 
county the home is being moved from before you 
can get a set-up permit. 

⇒ The permit fee for a set-up permit fee includes all the 
trade permit fees for that home. 

 
 

NEW CONSTRUCTION 

The following inspections are required for any newly constructed 
or remodeled structure in the State of North Carolina: 

♦ A footing inspection of ditches must be done prior to 
cement being poured. All footings must be dug below the 
frost line and not less than 12 inches from existing ground 
surface (not fill dirt) but to the bottom of ditch. 

 
♦ After concrete has been poured, the foundation can be 

placed on footing. All soil under the building must be 
leveled out 4 inches above outside level and all debris 
removed. 

 
♦ The following rough-in inspections must be done in 

sequence prior to the drywall being installed: 1) Framing; 
2) Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical; and 3) Insulation. 

 
♦ Once rough-in inspections have passed, work resumes to 

get the structure ready for final inspection 

♦ A final inspection is done after construction or remodeling 
is completed. The 911 address must be displayed on the 
building before final inspection can be completed. 

 
 

HOMEOWNERS RECOVERY FUND 

A fee of $10 will be collected in addition to the permit fee for 
residential construction being completed by a Licensed Gen- 
eral Contractor. Please check our department page for more 
information about the Homeowners Recovery Fund. 

 
 

 
 

 
What you need to 
know about 
building and 
permitting 

Bertie County Planning & Inspections Department 
is committed to assisting the citizens of Bertie 
County with their plans for building and 
developing. Please feel free to contact our office 
with specific questions or if you need assistance 
with online applications. We will help you navigate 
County and State codes for subdivisions, new 
construction, residential and commercial 
development, and flood damage prevention. 

Now you can apply and pay for permits online! 
Visit us at 
https://bertiecounty.portal.iworq.net/portalhome
/bertiecounty to apply or search for a permit or 
visit our Department page to find other 
important information, such as Bertie County 
ordinances, a guide to restoring power, 
information regarding floodplains, and more. 
http://www.co.bertie.nc.us/departments/pi/pi.ht
ml  

 

 

 

https://bertiecounty.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/bertiecounty
https://bertiecounty.portal.iworq.net/portalhome/bertiecounty
http://www.co.bertie.nc.us/departments/pi/pi.html
http://www.co.bertie.nc.us/departments/pi/pi.html

	What you need to
	FIRST THINGS FIRST!
	Sewage Disposal—We all have it and it’s got to go somewhere! But where?
	   A permit is required before a manufactured home may be set up. This type of building permit is referred to as a set-up permit.

	HOMEOWNERS RECOVERY FUND


